top of page

February's Senior Student of the Month: Tayler Thomason!


This month the Falcon Beat has chosen Tayler Thomason as the Senior student of the month. Tayler has attended FMHS for 4 years, and has lived up here since she was 4. Tayler loves playing volleyball and reading her Nicholas Sparks novels. Tayler told us that this year has been one of her favorite years of high school: “My first semester was great because in volleyball we beat the school record of how far we've gone in playoffs and that was a great way to end my volleyball career. This semester has been good too because I got into the college I wanted to get into, Cal State Bakersfield. It's also been a crazy year though because there's all kinds of upcoming events to remember and prepare for. I do, however, greatly look forward to all these events and to the lasting memories that will be made. It's hard to say if I'm ready for college or not because I'm not really sure what college will require. But, I feel like I'm as ready as I'll ever be and I definitely look forward to the changes that it will bring, even if they may be difficult ones.”

When we asked what school tradition she is most proud of she told us “I am most proud of the tradition that we started a couple years ago to honor our veterans by having a Veteran's Day Rally. Although I am not really close to anyone in the service, I think it's really awesome that we spend so much time planning and preparing so that the veterans are able to have a good time and feel honored for the service they gave. I take a lot of pride in my country and am so grateful for the sacrifices that those men and women made to fight for freedom.” Of course we also had to ask her the most important question to date, which is what he favorite school lunch is, to which she told us turkey and gravy because it’s the most filling.

Throughout her school career Tayler has had a few embarrassing moments, some just too embarrassing, but her fondest memory was when she "was walking to PE with Dallas and he was on crutches so we were walking slow. Then Mr. Stewart yelled at me to hurry so I started running and I was almost to the warm-up lines when I slipped in a giant puddle of mud! I remember Stewart saying "Don't step in the-" But then it was too late and mud was everywhere, all over my jeans and I think I ruined my shoes too. It was really embarrassing to me because it felt like everyone was watching and laughing. I learned though that sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself because honestly, it was pretty hilarious.”

Tayler doesn’t really have a favorite teacher; she appreciates them all equally. She says that she’s lucky to have the opportunity to attend a school where all the teachers actually know your name. She does however enjoy psychology because she finds it very enjoyable. Tayler also lets us know that she is in fact ready to graduate but scared at the same time. She hopes that by the time of graduation she has everything figured out. We would like to thank Tayler for her time, and wish her luck on all her future ventures.

bottom of page